On Days Like This …

5 Jul

My commitment to returning to Pakistan has never wavered and my resolve has never weakened even under the toughest opposition from friends and parents. But this doesnt mean I have never questioned my decision or that I have never considered staying in the country that has given me a lot of love, freedom, my education and some of my dearest friends.

 In the lead up to my departure to Pakistan, I’ve started to keep a diary of all those days and moments. Today was one of those days where I seriously questioned my decision. 

Read More by Clicking HERE

2 Responses to “On Days Like This …”

  1. Sinan Pasha July 5, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    All this will not be finished in the first 100 days. Nor will it be finished in the first 1,000 days, …, nor even perhaps in our lifetime on this planet. But let us begin. John F. Kennedy

  2. Manish July 8, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    As immigrants we are both blessed (to experience this world) & cursed (to be hanging in between the two).

    After much thought, discussions & going back/forth serveral times, I have come to the conclusion that we should look at our status as a way to positively contribute towards both places that we love (homeland & adopted land).

    While I agree that holding benefit events once in a while doesnt add up to much, I do think that we can constitute real change more effectively by external force than internal (basic law of physics: body needs external force to move). America arguably is the most free, democratic, open & meritocratic society today (despite all its flaws – but that’s a different discussion). If we have this opportunity to live here, should we not use it to benefit others in the homeland that are most likely not ever going to get this chance. I believe it can be done more effectively being here rather than go back & get frustrated by the system.

    To that extent I would like to point everyone to the example of the Jewish/Israeli diaspora – the change they have bought from outside has had tremendous impact on their own country & also perceptions of others about their country.

    But at the end of the day, you have to find these answers for yourself – this is just where I ended up.

    (Note – I refer to India in this context, but you are smart enough to realize that it doesnt matter)

Leave a Reply

