A Poem Adapted for Pakistan

29 May

Speak

In Pakistan, first they came for the Hindus and Sikhs
And I didnt speak up because I was not Hindu or Sikh
Then they came for the Christians
And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t Christian
Then they came for the Ahmadis
And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t an Ahmadi
Then they came for the Shias
And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t Shia
And then they came for me
And by that time, there was no one left to speak up
 
 
 
 
Photos from www.dawn.com poem adapted from the original, “First they came” by  Pastor Martin Niemöller
2 Responses to “A Poem Adapted for Pakistan”

  1. anon May 30, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    yes, this is exactly how it happened.

  2. Salman June 2, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    I don’t know I read through all of your blog and got lost at times but this one seems to be too precise yet explanatory a well written one indeed.

Leave a Reply

